MCB on old Memera CU

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am a complete novice, so please bear with me. We have an old Memera 3 CU and have recently had a new electric shower fitted (10.5 KW) and it keeps blowing the 30A fuse. So instead of replacing the fuse wire each time, I've just bought a 40A plug-in MCB from the local eletrical wholesaler. The pins were the wrong way, but when unscrewed I have rotated them through 90 degrees and have managed to fit it on the CU. After switching on and testing for a few minutes I switched off again and the MCB had become very hot. There was a slight smell coming from the CU too. Doesn't take a genius to work out that there's something not quite right here, but would anyone out there expect the MCB to get hot like that? Is my best option to get the whole CU replaced with trip switches? :oops:

Sponsored Links
10500w / 240v = 43.75A

You need a 45A MCB, but first find out what size cable is feeding the shower and don't use it again until you do. Also tell us how long the cable run is and what route it takes from the CU to the shower (through insulation etc...).

P.S What you did was reckless, you should NEVER upgrade the fuse/MCB without checking things out first and ensuring the cables/accessories are fit for the increased load.

Thanks Davy - I'll check it out. At a guess I'd say the cable run is around 10m from the CU

Although for reasons of age it would be advantageous to replace the whole CU, and bring all the circuits and bonding up to standard, your immediate problem is with the shower circuit.

It is possible to obtain a small CU just for the shower, with an MCB and an RCD (which reduces the risk of electric shock).

As Davy has in mind, you also may need the existing shower cable to be replaced with a heavier one.