Moving a light switch - notifiable?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
A friend (carpenter) has been asked to take down part of a stud wall at a local golf driving range.

As there is a light switch on this part of the wall he asked me if I would take a look, and possibly move the switch for him.

I'm an electrical engineer by trade, but am not part of any competent persons scheme, and only have 16th edition and some other BET domestic qualifications that I did a long, long time ago. I recently looked into becoming part of a competent persons scheme to have some private work to fall back on, but never pursued it as the costs seemed to high for it to be worth it (part-time).

Anyway, is this work notifiable? In a house I'd say no, but as this is non-domestic where would I stand?

Does the owner need to notify, and then have it checked by LABC, after I have moved the switch?

EDIT: Something I've just thought of, I 'think' the light switch is on the canteen side of the wall, which would be classed as a kitchen, and so notifiable?

I'm off to have a look at what he wants done in a minute, so will be clearer, but just wanted to put the question out there.

Sponsored Links
stephen, you're basing your reasoning on incomplete information..

if the clubhouse is has a permanent residence attatched to it, or shares it's electricity feed with one then it's notifiable..

for all you know there may be a greenskeeper cottage attatched to it..

Sponsored Links
Thanks guys, after a little more reading it did become apparent that Part P would not apply unless, as said, it shared a supply with a domestic dwelling.

I had a look, and in actual fact, nothing needs moving. Only maybe some cabling re-routed within the void once the wall has been pulled down.

So, apart from BS7671, what else, if anything should you adhere to when working in a commercial building? Do you need to certificate?