My first soldered joints - how they look?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Had a few practice attempts with yorkshire joints as I've never done any plumbing before.

Do these look ok? I couldn't seem to stop the pipe going a yellow colour before the solder was melting, but is this ok?

They were all watertight, and as you can see from one of them it cleaned up really well with wire wool afterwards - all the discolouring disappeared after a quick clean.

Do these look ok to the pro's?

plumb1.jpg

plumb2.jpg

Sponsored Links
What did you use on the pipe an oxyaceteline torch :LOL:

If I were you I would cut open the couplings and take a look at the solder spread inside ... I think you may be surprised as it looks like you've seriously overheated the joint and I wouldn't expect a uniform take.

Remember also that you heat the coupling not the pipe ;)

So perhaps I need to use less heat/hold the torch further away for a longer period of time..?

I did try a lower heat setting but it felt like I was there for ages and the solder still never melted until I focussed the heat, at which point the pipe started to slowly discolour.

When you guys do these joints do you get any discolouration of the pipe or should it always retain its original colour throughout the process? Or do you simply wire wool it clean after you've made the joint?

Sponsored Links
megawatt said:
Remember also that you heat the coupling not the pipe
Really? I always heat the pipe as well. The object is to get both fitting and pipe to solder meting temperature together, then withdraw the heat. You can't rely solely on the heat transfer from fitting to pipe to get the pipe to temperature at the same time.

In truth Chris, so do I once the solder starts to melt ... Outwards from the centre of the coupling to each end in turn to flow the solder outwards.