NEED HELP. BREEZE BLOCK GARAGE

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi People.

Im new to this.

i would like some help with a project im doing.

I want to build a double breeze block shed..

the lenght of the shed is 30ft long and 14 ft wide.

Approximately how many breeze blocks would i need.

Also i already have a wooden shed which im going to knock down. would i still need planning?

What type of roof can i put on here... a flat roof?

Im going to be using the shed for storage and a rehearsal room (im a musician :))
Im also going to plasterboard the inside and plaster ...

Thank ou ever so much..

Jason :)

Sponsored Links
Depending on height you are allowed, doors and windows to deduct from total.
I'd say if you was building double skin, using 440x215x100 blocks at a height of 2.5M you'd need approx 1400 blocks.
A single door would take about 30 blocks off and a window at 1200x1200 would take another 30 blocks off total.

There are certain guidelines regarding permitted developments that require no planning permission, I think your foot print size would mean permission would be required.
The roof type, may also depend on your boundaries with neighbours.
A link:
http://www.planningportal.gov.uk/en...sibilities/workresppp/workresppppermitteddev/

ditto above.

are you leaving it as a block face on the externals???.you might wanna use a different type of block to thermalite if you are.

I think you might be subject to Building Regs though. Isn't 30 square meters max without Building Control?
And you're talking 39 square meters

Sponsored Links
are you leaving it as a block face on the externals???.you might wanna use a different type of block to thermalite if you are

Paint finish?

Paint grade concrete blocks are 7N. Thus can be used below ground also.

But they are about £1.50 per sq metre more expensive. You need to compare against other/longterm finishes/maintenance etc.

there are other alternatives to thermalite and concrete which fall between the 2