New Boiler help needed

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Have decided after getting a £400 gas bill to replace our boiler as the one we have is like something out of the Ark.
The Boiler we have is a not a combi, i think i would like a combi as when we need hot water we need to switch the full system on.
We have phoned British Gas and n power to come out and give us a price.
n power are also giving 5 years servicing with a new boiler.
Do you think we are better off going with one of the big names or trying to go local ?
and what price should we be looking at ?
We live in a 3 bed terrace with 7 rads in. the boiler we have is a gloworm spacesaver ( it dont seem that small to me )
Thanks for any help..... :(

Sponsored Links
hi!
i am not an expert, but after the fiasco you will read about with British Gas taht i had to go through, i have learnt quite a bit about boilers and heating etc.

as i have said in my posting, all you need to do is take a trip to your local B&Q and there you will see quite a good range of boilers, many of them "big" name ones too.
if you want hot water and central heating to come from one unit, go for the combi--this will set you back around £600 to £800 depending on which model you choose--fitting will of course cost you extra, which you can get done by any local Corgi fitter.

if you want a separate system, ie one system to supply hot water and another for the heating, you can go for a water heater (they used to be called geysers in the old days!) and a boiler for the central heating.

ok, this will cost a little more than a single unit, but i have heard that combi units are not very reliable, and if they go faulty, which is very common, you stand to lose your hot water and/or heating at the same time.

whatever you do, DO NOT ask British Gas--they will probably quote you around £2000 to £3000 for the job!!!!!!!!!

Have decided after getting a £400 gas bill to replace our boiler as the one we have is like something out of the Ark.