New Build/Site work

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am after some advice if you could be so kind. I am a Carpenter and have worked for the same employer for the past six years since I qualified.

All of the work we do is extensions, refurbs, loft conversions, kitchens and the occasional cut and pitch.

The thing that is bothering me at the moment is that a majority of the work I look at on the job sites is new build, building sites etc, albeit temporary. I have never worked on a new build site and don't have any experience of this environment. I would like to know more about new build sites and site work in general and how it all operates from a carpenters point of view. I know I haven't asked any questions but if someone could tell me how they operate I might feel a little less anxious about the whole thing.

Thank you for your time. :rolleyes:

Sponsored Links
From my experience on site work doing plumbing and also helping a mate out doing partitioning and suspended ceilings it was an absolute nightmare.

It maybe down to the site agents that we were working with or the general projects themselves but nothing appeared to be organised at all and with other trades walking off site and new guys starting all the time there was no continuity on the site. This mainly comes down to alot less qualified trades people on site and alot more agency staff being thrown in because they will work for pennies to keep costs down. If you can get day rate then great it may work out but the majority is price work and believe me they try and squeeze every penny out of it. Some days we ended up working for nothing!

I suppose the atmosphere between other trades is a plus point if there is a good group of lads but for me the negatives constantly outweighed the plus points.

Prices are constantly squeezed and goalposts moved on a daily basis without any remuneration for additional works mostly. Also when payments were due it was like trying to get blood out of a stone!