New Condensing Combi?

Vaillant though appear to have/have had a problem with the Wilo pumps, as several have leaked internally (not seals) and tripped the boiler out.

Whats the official line on these pumps DM?

there is no offical news on the pumps as yet (as far as I know) but it is a relatively small number that have leaked, they are looking into it though.

Thanks DM. I must be unlucky then, as I have had 3 leak under warranty recently :cry:

I hope the pump on my own Vaillant doesn't fail. :eek:

Sponsored Links
I have no need to fit them as I am an engineer. You clearly don't understand that. An engineer is not a serviceman, despite them being called "engineers". Mr-Fixits are not engineers

I don't change pumps, rip up floor boards or screw radiators to walls. Others do that.

If only.

It would be more truthful if you would only admit that you used to design boiler burners some time ago and you are now retired. As such you have no hands on experience of boiler installation or repairs and you are only now able to read the publicity information from the manufacturers. You dont even go to the exhibitions!

I have done warranty repairs on a market of 15,000 boilers with Wilo pumps and I have only changed three! One tight, one o/c and one leaking at the screw seal although that was probably cross threaded by the installer. Over the same time period I have probably changed about 20 Grunfoss pumps with burnt out windings. I even teach my trainees what they smell like.

Tony

The Wilo pumps do have plastic bearings which can wear more rapidly than the ceramic bearings on the Grunfoss pumps. With finely devided iron oxides the Wilo bearings can wear to a failure point within a few weeks.

Of course thats not relevant for the professional installers who always clean the system.

Tony

I'm still fitting and recommending Vaillants as the first choice in the mass produced market. ATAG for top quality.