New landline phone: always off hook?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by mike004, 16 Nov 2011.

  1. mike004

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    459
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Just bought a BT Decor 1200 land line phone.

    The problem is it always seems to be off hook. If I lift the receiver, there is no sound. So I remove and reinsert the phone plug at the wall socket, which gives me a dial tone.

    If I phone in from another phone, I get a message prompting me to leave a 1571 phone message.

    Most disturbing, at odd times of the day and even in the middle of the night the phone gives a distorted "chirp" sound for a couple of seconds. Like someone is faxing a phone line or something.

    I have broadband and the phone is connected to a filter.
    My 12-yr old BT phone still works OK, but this brand new phone doesn't seem to be compatible or something.
     
  2. flameport

    Joined:
    10 Mar 2007
    Messages:
    4,719
    Thanks Received:
    763
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Either the phone is faulty
    or it's too close to your wireless modem/router.
     
  3. mike004

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    459
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    My router has wireless turned off.
    The router is on a telephone extension in the next room.
     
  4. joinerjohn

    Joined:
    28 Nov 2009
    Messages:
    6,145
    Thanks Received:
    199
    Location:
    Derby
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Router shouldn't be plugged into an extension socket. It should be plugged into the master socket, although I don't think that's your problem. Does your new phone have an answering machine built in? Perhaps the settings are set wrongly for the phone. I know I can set mine to automatically go to answering machine straight away, or after a set amount of time without answer.
     
  5. Paul_C

    Joined:
    19 Nov 2004
    Messages:
    2,137
    Thanks Received:
    139
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It sounds very much like a faulty phone which is permanently looping the line, even when hung up.
     
  6. mike004

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    459
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    The phone does not have an answering machine.

    I suppose the phone could be faulty, despite being brand new and not a cheapo phone.

    I was thinking that the new phone might be more sensitive to noise on the line or something, compared to my old, solid BT phone.
     
  7. JohnD

    Joined:
    15 Nov 2005
    Messages:
    38,450
    Thanks Received:
    1,542
    Location:
    Hampshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    try that phone in a different socket, and a different phone in that socket. You can take the phone to someone else's house if you like.

    Whichever one the fault stays with is likely faulty

    if you have an extension socket, it is possible the extension is incorrectly wired.

    The original BT socket is most likely to be corectly wired.
     
  8. mike004

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    459
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's the same behaviour on the main socket and the extension socket. No dial tone/off hook. Reinserting the plug gives you a dial tone and lets you make a call. But that's all.
     
  9. Monsterminty

    Joined:
    26 May 2011
    Messages:
    238
    Thanks Received:
    29
    Location:
    Pembrokeshire
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    refund time i think
     
  10. mike004

    Joined:
    16 Mar 2005
    Messages:
    459
    Thanks Received:
    14
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I unplugged and then replugged the router cable in the telephone extension in the spare room.
    The phone is on the main socket.
    Voila! The dial tone returns and everything works OK.
     

Share This Page