Newbie tileing questions

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,im a total novice when it comes to D.I.Y but our kitchen tiles are badly in need of an upgrade to match our new kitchen,so i have to attempt the job and id quite like to give it ago.
Anyway like i said im a bit useless,so be gentle with me.

Right my problem is iv started takeing a few tiles off the kitchen with some useful tools i.e heavy duty grout remover tool,a hammer and a scraper to get behind the scrapper and praise away at the tile but the tiles are that old i think its takeing the top layer of plaster off as well,see my photo if you can confirm that the plaster has come off also,underneath is just a thin dusty layer of something,im presuming its the 1st coat of plaster and iv pulled the 2nd layer off with the tiles.

[url]http://i266.photobucket.com/albums/ii269/andy000223/wall1.jpg

[url]http://i266.photobucket.com/albums/ii269/andy000223/wall2.jpg

Can i tile on this wall or should i get it plastered before i attemp to tile?

Forgive me if the pics dont show as its my first post,but the picks are also in my profile.

if someone can advise me on whats best to do id be grateful.
many thanks Andrew

Sponsored Links
andy
by ur pics it looks like the skimm coat has come off..my eyes aint up 2 much 2nite lol just use a bolster an hammer.
BUT.....by ur pics it looks like u have fitted ur worktop before u have stripped the walls??....
when stripped depends on how much damage there is 2 walls.
1.u could infill with rapidset floor adeshive..."if walls not to bad"..
2.bonding plaster then finish plaster.
3.just a skimm.
if am right about w/top u may want to remove it so u dont damage it?

Thanks for your advice, you are correct we had the kitchen fitted first which was a bit stupid really and in hindsight i should of took the tiles off when the old kitchen came out but to late for that.