One for the Corgi guys

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm studying for my ccn1 and need help with a question. Theres no-one else I can ask at the moment and its driving me mad.

What is the likely fault if a cooker oven burner extinguished after approx 15 minutes?
a/ faulty FSD
b/ blocked oven injectors
c/ blocked oven thermostat by pass
d/ undergassing causing incomplete combustion

Thanks in advance

Sponsored Links
Really you need to work that one out for yourself. One of us telling you isn't going to help you understand the principles, which is what you need to do.

Think about the way each mechanism described actually works. For example what would happen if the FFD were faulty? Or the oven injectors blocked? etc.

One of the faults described would give the outcome described, i.e. oven goes out after 15 minutes. So what is likely to be happening with oven temperatures after 15 minutes?

Good point, well made.
I think its down to a blocked thermostat by pass but wanted confirmation.

I could explain TWO of those giving the same effect!

This is one you have not thought of Chris !

The oven heats up and after 15 minutes the flame is turned down by the thermostat to the correct minimum flame. The minimum flame although correct is unable to sustain the thermocouple and it shuts off the gas supply!

Thats the problem with those questions, there are two answers of which both can be correct. The problem is to decide which is more correct!

Tony

Sponsored Links
As failure of either the TBP or the FFD would cause the oven burner to extinguish after 15 minutes, the key word is likely ;)

To be conclusively the TBP, the question should be (or your thought process should be) ...

"What is the likely fault if a cooker oven burner extinguished after approx 15 minutes but re-light's okay?"

MW

Well done mike123. The trick is not to think too hard about the question. If one answer seems too obvious it's probably the right one.