one radiator not working

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
just bled radiator in my living room to try and make it heat up, but it didn't work, the pipe that goes to the TRV is scalding hot, but it doesn't seem to be getting through to the radiator itself, any ideas? the radiator is below the living room window, and the TRV is next to an air vent. By the way, i'm a complete novice to this kind of thing, so laymans terms only pls lol

Sponsored Links
Is the TRV open? Is the lock shield open? Did it work before? Has anyone done any work on it recently?

Can you remove the head of the TRV? it might have a stuck 'pin'

Andy

valves at both ends are fully open, checked the pin, it doesn't seem to be stuck, it used to work, and it was bled a couple of weeks ago, and when the guy left, i discovered the trv head had been left off, i replaced it, but it didn't seem to help

valves at both ends are fully open, checked the pin, it doesn't seem to be stuck, it used to work, and it was bled a couple of weeks ago, and when the guy left, i discovered the trv head had been left off, i replaced it, but it didn't seem to help

What did he do? Call him back.

Or turn off working rads to force the water round the system.

Andy

Sponsored Links
that seems t have had some effect, but the bottom of the radiator isn't as warm as the top, and it's not as hot as the rest of the radiators in the house were before I turned them off, and part of the pipe that leads to the lockshield valve seems to have been crushed somehow, would that be part of the problem?

and part of the pipe that leads to the lockshield valve seems to have been crushed somehow, would that be part of the problem?

Drain down and replace faulty pipework, there could well be debris blocking the flow.

What did the other guy do?

Andy

I have no idea what the other guy did, but whatever it was didn't take long, and how would I drain the radiator?