Painting near overhead cables

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I am painting the exterior of my house and I have got to the last part,however there are overhead power cables that go to a point on the side of my house on the part I want to paint. What I wanted to ask is I need to use a ladder to paint this part of the house,so can electricity jump from the overhead cables to me or the ladder or will I be safe as long as the ladder or myself do not touch the overhead cables directly?

I have been wanting to paint this part of the house for a while now because the rest of the house is gleaming white but this part is rather dull in comparison - however I would sooner the wall be dull than me dead!!

Sponsored Links
im an electrician and i would be very unhappy about doing that myself even. Are you sure the cables are not insulated? If they are then makesure it is a dry day, do not touch them and paint carefully. electricity at those voltages will not jump more than a couple of mm. Infect probably not any mm.

If the power is into your house then it will be at common 240v. It's already been knocked down at the sub-station. Therefore is no more dangerous than your kettle lead.

Couple of years ago working on an old 30's house, iron gutters, the old overhead cables were joined onto the ceramic wotsits very close to gutter, one cable was bare the other had frayed/ weathered insulation. Like many jobs before I took no notice but one very damp morning I lay my alloy ladder onto iron gutter near the cables and got a tingle. Suppose it was rubber boots or whatever. But I told customer who phoned leccy company who came out whithin the hour and decided to renew the cable immediately and the whole street 6 mths ahead of schedule :eek: The live wire bloke said it was possibly arcing intermittently when it got damp, thats probably why I was able to live to tell the tale :eek: