PARTLY REWIRED BY NUMPTY

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Bought my house and in process of a revamp, unfortunatly the bastid who built the dormers upstairs never rewired. The house has mostly new style wiring which I have connected to a new split fuse box with an rcd completly renewing all the 2.5 sockets 6mm etc but I cant get to a bit of the light wiring under the dormers and in the soffets where access is hopeless, in fact in there today and managed to knock a wire off the downstairs toilet which I'm getting pelters for at the minute.

All of the canvas wiring removed at the minute is still nice and flexible.

Anyway here's the question, and no drama please, blazing inferno stuff and all that. Whats the chance of a fire if I left this, the fuse box trips even if a bulb blows in the house so would I be right in saying a short would be the same. I'm not an electrician unfortunatly, an engineer.

And any tips in getting the last bit done, you bastids are too complicated for me you wired all the house in black and red and some of the blacks are linked to the reds and so forth, getting a bit lost at the minute with it, some of the wiring is run down walls but down below light switch level and wont be sockets and its lower level with a concrete floor, all the dormer light wiring was done only the lower stuff.

Anyway any advice appreciate the house is like heroshima at the minute.

Sponsored Links
Have you tested all the circuits you have worked on, and the ones you have fitted into the new board. What were your RCD trip times.
What is the state of your earthing and bonding ?
What type of earthing system do you have and do the circuits meet required disconnection times ?

Dunno, it might burn down and kill all your family and neighbours, it might not.

I tend not to be all that helpful to someone who refers to me as a 'bastid', just because you don't understand what you are messing about with :rolleyes: