PAT testing?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys,

I realise this isn't particularly DIY related, but I haven't a clue where to find another forum as busy as this populated by qualified electricians, so I hope you don't mind me picking your brains.

I work in IT, and for the last 9 years (across two jobs) we have generally accepted that PAT testing fries computers. Despite our electricians always insisting that the tests are safe, we always experience a good number of failures, and no matter who we ask, we've never been able to find out why this happens. My understanding is that electronic equipment is only subjected to an earth leakage test, which should only affect the power supply. However we've seen blown power supplies, motherboards, processors and hard drives in the past. We've even seen a blown fuse in a mains lead after a PAT test.

We've always wanted to understand what's going on, mainly so we can try to reduce the number of failures we get, and this year I finally have a theory. I've no real experience with electrics however so I'd like to ask you electricians if this sounds reasonable:

1. The first key assumption is that we're going to assume that the kit is already faulty, and is going to fail the earth leakage test. This implies at least one faulty component within the power supply, although it's not bad enough to affect the operation of the computer.

I think this is the key to the problem since we can't think of any way a PAT test would affect a properly working computer, and previously we've always assumed the PAT test was breaking computers, and could not come up with any explanations.