Pictures: Problem with gas central heating

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, I hope I've come to the right place. As the heading says my gas central heating is not working as it should. I have very little knowledge of gas central heating. I have two problems really:

I have tried to take pictures of the system:
http://www.geocities.com/mccabecathal/1.html
The heating system error light starts flashing sometimes after the system has been running for a while, sometimes when you try to start it. Normally a reset fixes this, but it happens quite often.

I have a timer unit that when the heating should be on, lights up, and presumeable should turn on the heating system. When it changes from off to on, there is a clicking sound like a relay switching maybe? But the heating system doesn't always fire up.

I think the problem is that the pressure (of the gas?) is too low the guage is reading at the very bottom of the scale. I know that this guage has read a lot higher and seems to have been reduced to nearly the bottom, and as it has the frequency of my problems has increased. Or there is air in the system? Can the air be bled? Or how can the pressure be increased? is there a valve I can turn? I don't want to play about for obvious reasons.

Thanks to anyone who can help

Sponsored Links
sorry to say this but at 23.41 your picture links are unavailable unless it is just me?

mmm someone dont know how to link images here...

I have "sussed it " its the url that is wrong, cathalmccabe, take the .jpg off each line they then work. If you go to your post and click the edit button you can do this, rather than reposting, you then need to put
after the link (that is for each one)

(it does say on this froum that . jpg should be used but geocites sites its different. )

Sponsored Links
Sorry, I think I have the pictures fixed now, so that when you click the link it opens them in a new page.