Please help me, line? scrape off? plaster?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys im in some serious need of advice and help, I understand you get asked lots of question but I have searched extensively and still cannot find the best solution to my diy problems. I really do appreciate any help you can give me, I am a Vauxhall technician so if you need any car advice including vivaro, Renault traffic or Nissan primastar vans then let me know I will happy to help.
Basically I have lots or flaking paint in my kitchen, dining room and other areas of the house. Its 15 years old so no lead paint present. It looks like the original coat over the plaster was not done very well its started flaking and coming of the wall all over the place. So it looks like a previous owner of the house has just painted over this mess with a sort of light chocolate colour. My problem is it looks a mess and has an uneven finish. I want to re paint the lot.
I started to scrape the paint off with a steamer as an aid. Its taking forever!!! Where the original paint on the plaster is comes of a lot easier than the areas where the original paint has come of and previous owner has painted over, this is the hard stuff to get off.
I don’t know whether to give up on the scraping and line the walls with say 1700 lining paper but I don’t really no what prep is needed, do I still need to scrape all the old paint of or can I just smooth of ruff areas.
So I don’t know whether to keep scraping the paint of or prep for lining paper. However if I line ive got a lot of tricky areas to contend with.