Potterton Potty Performa 28 Help needed please

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hello i'm new to this, hopefully i will have explained myself well.

i have a potty performa 28 installed 3 years ago. yesterday it decided to stop working and the fan warning light is flashing. i have followed the fault diagnosis in the manual and looked at flow diagram D.

The pump runs but the fan does not.

I tested the mircoswitches for continuity and their relevant number on the PCB and they both function ok.

The central heating stat (temperature sensor) has a resistance of 13.62k ohms at 8 degrees celcius.

There is no voltage to the fan, and on the PCB A2 connector pins 5 and 7 have no reading were it should be 230v.

On switching the heating on the fan blade twitches a little but does not continuously spin. The blades move freely and all together so the fan is not jammed.

I can't see anything burnt on the PCB. The flow diagram suggests replacing the PCB.

Before i order a new PCB is there anything else i should check and test

Sponsored Links
Yes,

Find the overheat button (should be l/h/side) when pcb panel lowered.
Red I think?

Try to push this button in, and if it 'pops' back in, that is your problem

David

Except that something made it overheat!

Did you by any chance allow the system pressure to fall to zero ???

Tony

2 things first make sure you turn power off before trying to reset

also they have a habit of popping out every now and then so dont worry too much if pressure hadnt dropped ;)

Sponsored Links
Thanks everyone for the quick responces. When i looked the pressure had dropped by 0.5 bar so i filled it up again. I will try and check what has overheated and let you all know the outcome.

There was no red button i looked everywhere the manual does not mention it either. I have seen this button on other boilers but not on this one.

I tested the overheat thermo and it has continuity at 8 degrees with a resistance of about 0.05 ohms, is this right????