PVC double glazing advice please!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all.

I'm about to renovate a 1930's bungalow and one of the first things it needs are new windows. This is my first renovation project so I am rather new to all of this.
I would like the windows to be Georgian style PVC as I think it will suite the property well.

I have made a list of companies (both local and national) who I plan to arrange to get quotes from. However, I wanted to get some general advice from you first.

Is there anything specific that I should know about PVC windows?
How do I tell if they're good quality?
What is the normal guarantee/warranty period?
Any advice on haggling?
Is there anything that I should do to protect myself incase something goes wrong (IE, the windows are poorly fitted, etc)?

Any help would be appreciated.

Sponsored Links
national-wise, Everest are fantastic, Anglian are good and SafestyleUK are a shower of shyte :mrgreen:

national-wise, Everest are fantastic, Anglian are good and SafestyleUK are a shower of shyte :mrgreen:

Thanks for the reply.

I've been told that Everest are very expensive, is that true?

I forgot to say that I will be selling the property in about 2 years so I don't want to spend more than is necessary, but at the same time I don't want really cheap windows as it may put the buyers off.

Sponsored Links
everest are very expensive ! but very good also ! i would ask friends and family if they recommend any 1. national companys i would say are a big no no all you will get is hard sell and a poor job ! go local , try to ask if the windows are a german profile ( the best windows are german), ask about locks (insurance) , are the fitters subbys? (if so steer clear, not usually too hot on quality) and after sales service you should get 10 years warranty on the frames 5 years on the glass and handles/locks and remember you get what you pay for dont go cheap just for the sake of a few £100 !hope this helps rob