quick Hep20 pipe question

ok so the supply from a combi is 15mm.

i would as soon as practicable after the boiler,increase the pipe to 22mm to feed all hot water outlets in property.

Not being a heating engineer, I wonder about this - the boiler can only heat a given amount of water over a given time, so why would an increase of pipe diameter improve the bath-fill time if the available flow rate is the same? Apart from that, what about 22mm requiring 4 times the amiunt of water displacement than 15mm before hot water gets to the outlet, and the amount of heat loss when that tap is closed and this heated water in the pipe isn't used :confused:

and i am not taking the p iss
My mistake- just seemed to be going in circles until you explained. ;)

Sponsored Links
You only need 22mm when you have a low pressure system If you have a combi or unvented then 15mm is fine. I would even go as far as to fit 10mm to basins and sinks in this case. You want to reduce water wastage as much as possible and also reduce the amount of heat that you are wasting in displacing long runs of standing water.

Yeah it's a combi boiler. My flow rate was only 12.5 litres a minute from the hot tap (which I think is all the boiler is capable of outputting anyway)I'm hoping this doesn't change too much. I dont think 22mm pipes would do anything as I'd still only be able to get 12.5 litres a minute anyway.
Just out of interest why is Hep20 an "amateurish" option? Is it because it's not as traditional as copper or because it's easier to fit?
cheers

ok so the supply from a combi is 15mm.

i would as soon as practicable after the boiler,increase the pipe to 22mm to feed all hot water outlets in property.

if someone at some point has done a boiler change,removing a system or regular boiler, and a hot water cylinder, then the original hot pipework for the house would already be in 22mm(or older propertys 3/4")