Re-Wiring Telephone into house.

AlanB27 said:
as modern phones or devices are not polarity conscious and therefore it does not matter if you get them the other way round.

Hi Alan, nice to meet a BT engineer on line!

I have fitted hundreds of extensions in my time (albeit I am not a telecoms engineer), and always get confused when people say what you have.

I fitted an extension socket at a customer's house a few years ago. I tested it with my AX tester (polarity & bell line tester) and it was OK, albeit reading reverse polarity.

However, I got a call later from the customer saying his BB was not working. I went round & after reversing polarity (so the tester was now reading green, not red), it worked fine.

So in this case at least, the BB modem was polarity conscious.

Sponsored Links
securespark said:
AlanB27 said:
as modern phones or devices are not polarity conscious and therefore it does not matter if you get them the other way round.

Hi Alan, nice to meet a BT engineer on line!

I have fitted hundreds of extensions in my time (albeit I am not a telecoms engineer), and always get confused when people say what you have.

I fitted an extension socket at a customer's house a few years ago. I tested it with my AX tester (polarity & bell line tester) and it was OK, albeit reading reverse polarity.

However, I got a call later from the customer saying his BB was not working. I went round & after reversing polarity (so the tester was now reading green, not red), it worked fine.

So in this case at least, the BB modem was polarity conscious.

Hi securespark, yeah it certainly CAN happen, depending on the age model and make of modem/router/phone etc albeit less and less nowadays.

I for one have certainly never come across an instance like it, and whenever im jointing in the external network i dont pay TOO much attention to A leg to A leg etc etc :LOL: although saying that the older hands are quick to point out if your NOT doing it right hehe