Recommend a Replacement for a Turbomax 824E ?

I was watching Lee Mack last night and he was talking to someone in the audience .
He asked him his name . " John "
" What do you do John ? "
" I'm a Plumber "
Lee: " Well its f***** nice of you to turn up hey John !!!! "

Funny.

My plumber did turn up and he's working now . I'll report back .

Sponsored Links
Well .... it all looked like it was fixed . And now in the evening I've lost pressure again .

From outside I can not see the end of the pipe that runs from the PRV out through wall .
I assume there is no pressure in this pipe and I can myself disconnect it INSIDE the flat and observe any leaking ?

Sorry the picture is so big !!!

PVR_zpscjl8vyia.jpg

So how did this all go ?

Well ..... after being told " There's noffink can be done - you need a new boiler " it's 4 days later , the hot water is scalding , the central heating is purring away and my home is too warm .

So I think it's all good .

New Plate Heat Exchanger , Automatic Air Vent , Internal Cleaning ..... plus the Labour . £400.

I think plumbers get away with out and out robbery . £80 an hour for labour . Doctors don't get that !!!! It's thievery.

So yes --- £400 is a lot less than £2000 . But it should never be £2000 in the first place .

@Borell Glad you are all sorted but the £80 per hour comment will get a lot of peoples back up in here. For your area that is about right.

Don't forget that that £80 doesn't go into our pockets. We aren't just a heating engineer we are a business and as such have overheads and running costs.