Recommended Satin coat on top of zinnser BIN

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

I'm very new to DIY and want to tackle our dark wood internal doors. I'm fairly sure they are the originals from when the house was built in 1960. They are solid and have panels. They have been stained a dark colour and I want them white.

Looking through this forum, it seems like my best bet would be to use Zinsser BIN as a primer.

However, I'm a bit confused about whether I need a water or oil based top coat. I'm thinking Satin or Eggshell rather than Gloss, although I'm not quite sure on the difference between Satin and Eggshell!

Any advise and brand recommendations would be great.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
BIN is a great product but it dries so quickly that you will find it (very) difficult to achieve a decent finish. It is also very hard so sanding it flat will take ages.

I would recommend Dulux Trade oil based undercoat (after priming). You may need 2 or 3 coats to obliterate the existing dark finish.

Mind-you, in spite of the above, if the doors are the originals you will probably find that the dark finish is masking years of scratches and dents. If that is the case then they will need a fair amount of filling with styrene resin filler (car filler, aka 2K filler, AKA 2 pack) and sanding, so BIN would be a viable option as the first base coat given that you will have a lot of sanding anyway.

If the existing finish is varnish the doors will need a decent sanding to provide a key prior to painting/filling, otherwise the paint will be prone to chipping. !80 grit silicone carbide (not aluminium oxide) will suffice.