Remote switch for an immersion heater

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello, readers! My first post, so hope this makes sense.

I have an immersion heater for a hot water cylinder connected to a fused spur (I believe this is correct, but I am no expert on terminology). Looks like this:
http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/BG950.html

It is now connected to the immersion heating element via a 24 hr timer like this:
http://www.tlc-direct.co.uk/Products/TCTI24.html

The hot water cylinder with the timer and the switch is located in a cupboard in the bedroom. So, what I am trying to do now is to install a remote switch (pull-cord type) somewhere nearer or even in the bathroom to switch the immersion on/off. The timer is seldom used, and prefer to just switch on the immersion to top up the hot water before showering.

Suggestions on how this can be wired up?

Thanks for reading.

Sponsored Links
Thanks guys for the replies.

Lectrician, appreciate the suggestion, but since I would like to put my new switch in the bathroom, the boost switch probably be a bit dangerous? I'll probably put the switch beside my current pull cord switch for the lights.

Guys, will I just need a two-core cable then to run from the timer to my new switch? Doesn't seem right to have a 3 core.

Sponsored Links
What Lectrician suguested would be fitted near the tank. (maybe outside the cubard in the bedroom)

This would be a lot quicker and easier to install.
and has the advantage you won't leave it on.
and don't need to go back to it to turn if off.

Just set it to what boost you want. 15 mins to 1 hour.

Because of the neon, the wiring becomes a pain for a pull cord