Render: Purpose of 2nd coat?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I continually read about the scratch coat and then the 2nd top coat in relation to rendering, but I'm puzzled as to what the 2nd coat is for? Logically I'm assuming it's either to get the necessary thickness (my next question...) or to get a nice smooth finish? Any ideas?

Secondly, I need to calculate the quantities of sand & cement I need but have no idea on the thickness I need in the render. What is the approximate thickness per coat (i.e. scratch coat and top coat) I should be looking at? I'm assuming then I just work it out in cubic metres.

The plan is to paint much of the wall after it's been rendered, and for a smaller portion of it to apply a coloured Tyrolean finish.

Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Hi Richard,

I'm no render expert but what i understand is that:

by applying 2 coats, putting waterproofer in the scratch coat will give you more time to work with the final coat making it easier to get nice and flat, also been told that if you do it in one coat, brick/block work can show through.

2 coats should also help with cracking, as you would differ the mix ratios for each coat, i think making it stronger for the float coat so more sand, best to get a render pro's advice on this, can't remember if it's the scratch or render that needs to be strongest, a lot of folk use lime in the mix too, makes it more flexible AND breathable.

regarding quantities try this: http://www.source4me.co.uk/calculate_building_materials.php

"from the archives"........ courtesy of Roughcaster ;)