Rennovation

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,
I am a newbie and hope someone could throw some light on this. I am getting this property which needs lots of renovation. I have a few qns on this and also would it be cheaper/peace of mind if I got them done individually through yellow pages or get an interior designer and let them sort out? Also which would be the ideal way to get them done ( I mean to start off with plastering or bath etc...)

1) Kitchen and integrated appliances with cabinets (including flooring and wall painting)
2) Bathroom (tiling, painting and a 3 piece suite)
3) 3 bedrooms and a lounge (plastering, painting and lamination)
4) installation of a combiboiler
5) installing halogen downlights (lounge, kitchen and bathroom)

Thanks in advance. Regards, Pep

Sponsored Links
what do you suppose an interior designer will do?

(Interior designer thinks)

I need a kitchen fitter, painter, plumber,plasterer, floor fitter, heating engineer, electrician, my usual "people" ar all busy, hmmmmm, yellow pages, oh and for all my phone calls, I will charge charge the sucker (er client) £2,500

in my opinion, cheaper and peace of mind do not fit in the same sentance.

But to expect all trades to turn up at the same time is also not good fro anyone.

I would suggest you decide what needs doing, write it down, get quotes for everything, and make another list as to which order it should be done.

eg, you dont want the plasterer in before the electrician, and you dont want the painter in before the plasterer

A good builder will have all these trades working for him/her or know subies they can rely on.
They will be able to advise on weather the property needs more or less work than you envisage (rewire) once the works required are agreed they will be abel to tell you how long it will take and provide an estemate.