Repairing Plaster and Damp

OPJ

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi all,

I recently decided to start painting my living room after growing tired of the landlord's magnolia! Two of the walls were completed last weekend and I left another intentionally because I knew there was some kind of issue with the plaster falling off.

This evening, I looked in to patching it up, only to find that it's worse than I had anticipated. Plaster is 'weak' is several areas and a lot of paint was loose as well. You can also see the large damp patch below:

https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5473/14413942412_038c358a78.jpg

So, now that I've created this mess, I'm obliged to try and clean it up! As I'm not a plasterer by trade, I would be very grateful for your advice on the following:

What would be a good product to use to seal the wall? I'm thinking of the bare surface (beneath the plaster) and perhaps also to seal over the sound plaster where only the paint has come off?

https://farm6.staticflickr.com/5577/14228775327_4ed196190a.jpg

I'm working under the assumption that I'll have to fix this as I created the mess when I could've simply looked the other way...

I bought a tub of ready-mixed Polycell plaster repair before I started hacking away, in hope of making it good enough to paint over (I don't wish to create a perfect job - it's my landlord's property and the plastering may've been s***e in the first place... The kitchen certainly is!). I'm hoping to continue along with the same. But any advice or suggestions you can offer would be very gratefully appreciated.

Thank you,

Olly

Sponsored Links
Is this a room prone to condensation, like a bathroom?

Or is the wall wet due to a leaking gutter or pipe?

What is on the other side of the wall?

Is the floor wet?

Hi John and thank you for your reply.