Replace Soffit Vent Mesh.. easily?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I suspect that I'm not going to get an answer I like, but here goes nothing..

My house has soffit vents, and the mesh has all but disintegrated on most of them. I'd like to replace it to prevent birds/bugs/bats from making their home in my attic, but looking at the vents (photos below), I seem to have a predicament - unless somebody here knows better, the only way I think I can remove the vent covers is to take off the fascia.. which means removing the guttering too, which seems like a crazy situation to just replace some mesh.. surely I'm missing something?

ri7s01.jpg

205hrn.jpg

Thanks, Ed

Sponsored Links
Huh, I assumed those were rusted bolt tops, but after looking again they're some kind of weathered brown plastic plugs. Are you saying I should just yank the whole thing? It seemed pretty sturdy and I'm a little worried I'll damage the soffit if I tug too hard (needless to say it's my first time dealing with this). Additionally, if any of the plastic plug-things break I'll struggle to put it back.. any idea what I need to search for to get replacements for those? Sorry if these questions are stupid!

Are the frames plastic or metal?
I would assume that the plastic caps cover screw heads into wood?

Either remove them all and regauze or find a similar sized replacement and screw on
Maybe paint the soffit while up there?

You can get capped stainless screws possibly inthe upvc section of DIY shops

Or if the wood (ply?) of the soffit is in good condition you could over lay it with thin upvc and add new vents
( this is a matter of opinion but I did my garage this way)

Sponsored Links
Yes, you will most likely find that they are plastic screws caps. I don't think that they will be push plugs, but either way, they are removable. Undo them, and the vents slide out.