Replaced timer - now no central heating :-(

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I've just replaced a Danfoss 102E5 programmer/timer with a Hostmann c27 from screwfix - to program my Potterton Prima boiler

I did this as the Danfoss could only work with hot water on or hot water +heating on at the same time but not heating on it's own.

Since swapping over the boiler fires up when the Hot Water is on and heats the water (the red hot water light is lit on the c27) but the boiler doesn't fire up when I switch central heating on (the red CH light is lit on the c27).

I've attached a photo of my wiring. Any ideas gratefully received.

Cabling:

I've got 4 sources of cables (sorry you can probably guess I'm not an expert) : Boiler, Pump, fused rocker switch and hole in wall behind timer.

Cabling:
N = 4 blue cables (1 from each source)
L = 1 red cable from hole in wall
1(HW off) = no cable
2(CH off) = no cable
3(HW on) = 1 brown cable from boiler
4(CH on) = 1 brown cable from pump

There is a brown cable coming from the rocker switch and a yellow cable (not earth I don't think) from hole in wall which were terminal blocked before so I've left them that way.

As I say, Hot water works, Heating doesn't

Many thanks in advance
Brett

box.jpg

Sponsored Links
What system do you have?

y plan?
s plan?

None of the above?

You need a closing sequence to run c/h independantly.

EDIT: as Bengasman has stated... wiring centre. IGNORE COLOURS

Paul.

Sponsored Links
Thanks for your prompt replies

Where would I find the wiring centre? I'll then post a picture.

cheers again
Brett

Hi, I've found that the red, blue and yellow cables (hole in the wall) come from the room thermostat.

I can't find the wiring center (but that might be in the loft)

Also when I switch the thermostat down it fuses the 3amp fuse.

Found the ch pump which seems to be turning ok.

Cheers again
Brett