Replacing Master socket

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi
I have an old Bt mastersocket, Im assuming its from like the 40s 50s not sure but its not like the new ones, I wanted to replace this with a new one for the benefit of my internet, would this make any difference and also how can I do this as bt want over £100 for something which im sure wouldnt take them 10minutes.

Thanks alot

Sponsored Links
they were not invented in the 40s or 50s, so if it is a socket changing it will make little difference.

picture of said "socket" would help

emphasis303 said:
I wanted to replace this with a new one for the benefit of my internet, would this make any difference and also how can I do this as bt want over £100 for something which im sure wouldnt take them 10minutes.

Friend signed his parents up to BT broadband and they got the new NTE5 ( master box ) fitted where they wanted it for free.

How old do you think this one is?

mastersocket.jpg

Sponsored Links
emphasis303 said:
I wanted to replace this with a new one for the benefit of my internet
And there was me thinking that nobody owned it. ;)

BTW, what are the symptoms of the Internet problem you want to resolve?

lol yeh not exactly socket but it seems to be my master connection, well really its speed thats the issue,be recomended to change it to an nte5 one, so going to have an engineer come and change it. this is a master socket right guys?

from the 70's and yes that was how the phone was connected in them days. it is straight forward to change to a master socket as it normally only has 2 wires just follow instructions on new one for connection terminals (usually 2 orange and 5 blue)

This is a connection point, I notice the feed is coming and th that phone then another wire going to extension wiring somewhere else......if you are using broadband does this plug into the extension socket?........inform your sp whoever they are and they will arrange a engineer to visit and fit a NTE