Replacing old radiator with Heated towel Rail

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

Now i know this topic has been posted a hundred times but im still not clear on everything, so thought id check and clarify my plan...

So im no plumbing expert but am confident i have enough DIY skills to do this myself.

Firstly I understand i have to drain down the CT system before i start.
I assume this involves turning the stopcock, turn off the boiler (i have a combi so no water tank) then draining water from the rads. (i have no drainage valve) am i right in thinking i will only have to partially drain the system as its an upstairs radiator therefore the water will drain to the lower half?

secondly the existing pipework is 10mm and most of the towel rails are 15mm so i intend to cut/adjust the pipes under the floorboards to fit the size/width and then use a 10-15mm reducer to change the pipe - Will this be ok?

Finally top the boiler back up via the filling loop and job done!

Am i missing anything? :confused:

Thanks in advance!

Sponsored Links
Basically thats about it, but there's no need to turn off the stopcock as the C/H is a sealed system.....it means that your house still has mains water.
Obviously turn the boiler off.
Depressurise the system by cracking open the rad connection nuts (shallow tray handy) and open the rad bleed valve to drain that.
The rest of the system may drain a little, but naturally not the downstairs.
Use a 10/15mm reducer for the pipe work (with copper olives) if possible.
Towel rails put out only a small amount of heat compared with a radiator but presumably you've considered this. Flush out the new rail before you fit it!
You'd maybe like to add some more inhibitor to your system as the work progresses.
John :)

Thanks for the help John really appreciate it! :D

We only have a tiny bathroom so shouldnt need a huge output from the radiator.