Roof extension with a terrace

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I intend on extending my top floor apartment. I will build an extra floor and replace the roof, then on one side I will have a terrace. I've been a carpenter for over 10 years but so far never managed a job as big as this.

I've been told by an experienced builder that it's actually very simple. I could pre-fab some timber frames in a workshop, strip my roof completely, then crane lift the frames up. Assemble them then put the roof back on.

I'm still unsure about the steps to take. Plus I'm not sure about the best methods for waterproofing the terrace. I have no doubt that I am capable of the job, it's just getting things organised and executed. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Sponsored Links
The thing about taking the old roof off is how it's constructed, fixed and roof covering.
Firstly it will have to be manufactured trusses, stick built roofs would be incredibly difficult to brace for that type of operation. And secondly, you would have to figure out a lifting plan, point through the roof where the sling would go, lifting spreaders to take the opposite load bearing the roof was designed for etc. The rest is easy, this is how timberframe building roofs are often done i.e. built on the ground and craned into place. And the walls are straight forward build, hoist up to storey and fixed and braced etc.
You will have to be familiar with timberframe building and how to marry two building styles together, but no big shakes...pinenot :)

Haha easypeasy! Don't forget the structural engineer to prove your handrails won't fall off and the host of other Building Regs to get through. Oh yea don't forget the panning permission either! Yea easypeasy! :LOL:

Sponsored Links
Firslty, thank you for your feedback.