Routing all pipes together?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
my house was originally fitted with night storage heaters and emersion heaters. The previous owners decided to fit a boiler in the garage which is below our bedroom floor. We get noise through the pipes when the boiler changes from DHW to CH. I took up the floor in our bedroom to find pipes layed as the picture shows.
My question. Is this really advisable running a cold water pipe so close to heating and hot water pipes?
[/img]

Sponsored Links
I'm not an expert, but I wouldn't have thought running them virtually touching is a good idea, given that pipes expand/contract by small amounts as they heat up / cool down, I would think that they're likely to make contact with each other in various ways - generating noise etc.

I know in my house while I have a similar set of pipework, each pipe is spaced out from the others by a small amount...

im not 100% convinced it is the pipes making the noise. just concerned about not being very efficient. its probably like this for about 30 feetish

Ideally a 50m gap should be in situ where you run hot and cold water pipes in tandem. That said it is possible that when they are expanding it is cause of your noise.

Sponsored Links
Thanks for that. i might widen the notches in the joists to allow me to insulate the pipes. Its like a knocking noise for about 5 second. you can hear it when you stand next to the boiler, but it is noisier in the house

How well were the pipes clipped? If too loose they can bang and rattle. As they are so close together they could be difficult to clip.

I would be careful notching out more of your joists as I would say they have already exceeded the prescribed limits.
Pete

another problem is condensation forming on the cold pipe due to being in between two hot ones,