Sanding victorian floor boards

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello,

I am a newbie to this site and also to the world of sanding so could do with some advice please.

We have just bought a victorian terrace house and when we get the keys on 2nd Sept I plan to sand 5 of the floors before we move in. I am going to stain the ground floor a dark colour, maybe walnut or ebony and the childrens top floor I am going to paint white.

My question is how do I colour and treat the ground floor ? Do I use stain or dye and then put 3 coats of clear varnish ? Or should I use a coloured varnish and if so will the natural floorboard colour not show through if the floor gets chipped or damaged? What product is best ? Or is there another way I should be doing it?

If anyone can give me any advice as this is the first time I have sanded any floors at all and can not afford to get someone in to do them all.

Thanks x

Sponsored Links
I would seriously consider getting a proffesional in, particularly downstairs. It is very difficult to get a good finish, particularly if you have not done it before.
I consider myself a competent diyer, but I did it in my last house - took ages and cost a fortune in materials (I got the most best and most expensive on the market), and it looked rubbish..... :cry:

Hi, jay679

Just been to look round the house we have bought this morning, as all the lads that where renting it have moved out so I can see the rooms for the first time empty. And it is worst than I thought, so really can not afford to get someone to do all the rooms. So i might try doing upstairs as i am painting them then move on to the back room/dinning room and see how I get on.
Will see about getting a quote for hall and lounge. I knew I was being a bit ambitious when everyone I spoke to shook their heads, but I thought it was just cause I am a girl !! Haha

So as still doing some floors all tips are very welcome.

Thanks x

Sponsored Links