Scantronic 9448+ Alarm

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello Everyone,

I'm a newbie to the forum so thought I'd just ask my first question.

I've just moved into a house that has the Scantronic 9448+ installed. The control panel is open and the alarm is switched off at the mains (fuse been removed).

I've tried putting the fuse back in but the control panel doesn't seem to want to respond to any key presses. I've checked the battery with a DMM and it's showing minus volts (it is completely dead) no surprise there, it's got a date in 2008 written on it. I've ordered a new battery for it. I've also been online and found the instruction / installation manual for the system.

The one thing that is missing though is the screw that holds the control panel shut. Does anyone know the size of the screw that is needed to keep the panel closed?

I'm determined to get this alarm system up and running again. The previous owners said that the house came with a working alarm system and we've found that is not the case when we arrived after we picked up the keys.

Any help would be appreciated.

Many Thanks

Sponsored Links
It can’t have minus volts !
Anyway more than likely the transformer fuse on the pcb is probably blown which normally happens when the panel has a faulty battery ( 1 amp quick blow )

Hi,

All fuses have been checked for continuity and they all check out.

I will however get some new fuses for the board just to be on the safe side.

Thanks,

Sponsored Links
Hi,

Yes I did. Although they are fine, I'm gonna put new ones in anyway.

Thanks,

Yeah the green light comes on so there is power getting to it but the keypad does not respond when pressing any buttons.

Now I've got the installation manual downloaded I can do the factory reset procedure on it as the previous owners of the house never nor the estate agent told us what the alarm code was.