Some Advice Re Loop in Wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I have some basic knowledge of electirics. In my living room I have a 3 gang switch that controls the living room light, the hall light and an outside light, it is linked to one other switch in the hallway. As long as we have been in the house it has been wired incorrectly. When you switch on the left and right switches together, the living room light only comes on. None of the other lights work (with any combinations of the switches!) At the switch there are five cables. One three core and earth linked to the hall switch and four twin and earth cables. All the neutrals are together in a connector. All wire colours are pre 2005. I believe what I am looking at is loop in wiring wired through the switch.

Of the four twin and earths, should one be the main feed and be constantly live and the other three switch cables? If so am I right in thinking that I should then try to identify the three switch cables using a multimeter and then label them accordingly? I would then propose to post some pictures and seek advice re the correct wiring.

Sponsored Links
Thanks, I will crack on with establishing the live feed and the switch cables and come back for further advice. So that makes sense, if there is just one feed coming in that's why I have two pieces of seperate wire linking some of the terminals.

I have now identified all my cables using the multimeter. Of the four twin and earth cables, one is the live feed and the other three are switch cables. I have labelled them as follows:

1 = Live, 2= Living room, 3 = Hall, 4 = Porch, (5 = the three core and earth link to the hall switch.)

The switches on the three gang switch are laid out in the order of L, L1, L2. I know that I need to loop the live feed to the other two switches. How do I now wire up the switch? If this is insufficient information, I am happy to post a picture of the back of the switch..

Sponsored Links