Spur from a spur

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I would like to spur off an existing socket to supply a new (single) socket, however when investigating I've found that my existing socket is already a spur from the ring main.

After reading various sources it seems that spurring from a spur is a no-no..... (what is the reasoning behind this? because of the current going through two sets of single wires?)

however I was wondering if this is possible if I install a 13A FCU before the first spur so that only a 13A load can be supported

any comments greatfully recevied

Sponsored Links
As far as I know, what you propose (to fit a 13a FCU between ring main and first spur) is acceptable.

Not ideal but acceptable.

Like I say, this is as far as I know to be true - I'm not a pro spark so please wait for proper advice before proceeding.

The reason I replied though is to ask:

Would it not be possible to join the existing spur into the ring main thus meaning you can take your additional socket from this?

Fred.

Hi,

Firstly thanks for the response and I don't worry I'll wait for a bit more advice before proceeding.

I haven't fully investigated yet as to wether I can make my existing spur part of the ring.. but I believe I may have issues as I have a relatively old house and difficulty running cables.

If I were to investigate this though presumably I would need to find the socket that feeds the spur and then take one of it's ring main wires and connect this to to my existing spur instead... thus binging my spur in to the ring?

BTW: So the reason you wouldn't normally spur from a spur is that you are potentially going to be loading the wires with too much current if someone plugs in a number of current hungry devices in to what looks like two seperate sockets but what actually is a spur?

BTW2: just out of interest...presumably spurring from a spur is theoretically the same as plugging in 4-way ganger plug to the spur socket?

Thanks,

Rob