Stanley dual fuel oven and central heating

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
My aunt's Stanley is not behaving and turns itself off consistently (unplanned).
This much I know
  • I am a trained electrical engineer.
  • She has had many related engineers look to fix, none yet successful.
  • They have changed the timer/programmer unit.
  • Because of the previous points I have not yet looked at it until today.
  • I fired it up today and all works fine, after a period of time it stops. The power looks to now be absent from the timer/programmer (i.e. no LED display,no control LED).
  • I am surmising that for some change of circumstances (heat rise) the timer/programmer is losing its power feed due to a systems fault (to be further identified), further to this.I'm thinking that bypassing this unit and running in manual will confirm all else works okay and the area of the fault is the controller/timer power supply.
  • Comments on thinking and any other experiences welcomed.

Sponsored Links
Have you got a wiring diagram ? Which model of Stanley is it ?
I have a 100k twin series. It is old but works fine.
Live to the programmer comes in via the mains tagblock and then through the 'Oven Limit' and then through 'Boiler Limit' stats.
I think these are button operated and re-settable so if they are not tripping then one of them might have become a bit 'iffy'.

If the programmer has no LCD display then you are certainly on the right tracks.

By-passing might not be a good idea as you would be by-passing in-built safety devices.

Personally I would identify the route of the mains in from the tag-block to the programmer, identify the 2 suspect stats and add some 'test-points' so that I could check how far the mains has got upon failure.

I believe the 2 trips on mine are located on the bottom panel. They are button operated with screw caps on them.

andytw

Last edited:
Hi Andy

Thanks for taking the time to share your experiences and opinions.