Strange pressure drops

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
This is something I have been battling against for 3 years!

If someone can help I would be eternally grateful.........

Our heating system was not working - poor pressure in the system, radiators were not getting warm. After the usual attempts to improve this we had the system pressurised with an expansion tank etc. The system ran much better after that. Then we had problems with dropping pressure (only after the heating went off!) and a fault on the boiler. After more investigation and battling, my wife actually discovered that water was running out the main drain pipe when the heating went off. We were advised to get a new heat exchanger which we did. This helped sort the boiler problem. We were okay with just the hot water on over th summer.

Now we have the heating back on, the pressure, set at 1.5 bar drops doen to 0 after 2 or 3 runs. It needs constant topping up. The pressure drop only happens after the heating goes off and only once the water seems to have cooled. What is going on?

Most/everyone insists that there is a leak, somewhere (no evidence so far). The thing I can't figure out is that water still seems to come down main drain pipe once the heating cools - about 3 or 4 litres! I know that there will be some water from condensation, but not this much.

Does anyone know why this might be? The only suspicion I have is that it might be the temperature/pressure valve somewhere?

Please help!

Sponsored Links
what boiler have you got, was it a sealed system before or did you just change the old boiler into a sealed one or did you get a new boiler ??

I would suspect the expansion vessel, but more worrying is the fact that you have been topping up the system for 3 years and no mention of inhibitors.

what boiler have you got, was it a sealed system before or did you just change the old boiler into a sealed one or did you get a new boiler ??