Stream Music Through HiFi

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hello

I have a Linn Lifestyle system and a Project turntable (and Phono Box). I want to be able to stream music from the Internet via laptop or iPhone through the speakers. What do I need to be able to do this. Maybe a simple question but although I work in IT and was at one point interested in HiFi the two have not met in my head until now.

Sponsored Links
When I first saw the title of the thread, I was going to recommend the Bluetooth module I soldered into my old mini-system for £7, from Amazon.

....then I saw you had a Linn system! :confused:

I don't think an add-on module is going to cut it! :oops:

I'm afraid I don't have any recommendations for a hifi streamer (I have a Sony AV amp and Denon system with streaming built in).
All I can suggest is perusing sites such as:

https://www.whathifi.com/best-buys/streaming/best-music-streamers

Hopefully others may be able to provide specific recommendations! :)

Last edited:
Which system do you have ? I have a early Kiko that only connects to the network via ethernet cable, our old apple does a sterling job as its source manager, loads of old stuff on a NAS and Itunes still does a pretty good job of streaming direct. .. I thought everything post 2012 had bluetooth built in, so I am assuming your linn is older so really its just the codec that you want bluetooth LDAC is 32bit DAC,not quite loss less but pretty good. Anything after that is wired. We use a LAVA audio as a receiver for our phones, to be honest we cannot tell the difference between the lossless stuff shoved out by the apple and the direct stuff from an android phone. But I am nearing 60 and my ears are a bit hardened.

Sponsored Links
A cheap way of doing this is to get an Alexa echo dot and use the audio out to aux in. Will stream over wifi, - better IMHO than bluetooth, I find it perfectly adequate for casual listening.