System Boiler problem Aaaaarrrrhhhh!!!

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I have an Ideal mini S28 System boiler. the problem I'm having is the CH works fine but if i press for DHW, the boiler cuts out. If I call for DHW only, the boiler fan/pump starts and the motorised valve starts. But just as you think the boiler is going to fire up - Nothing. When I put the boiler into system mode the lamps (x3) tell me its a Faulty Primary Circuit fault (No water or absence of flow).
Now, I'm no expert (If I was, I wouldn't be typing this I suppose), but please correct me if I'm wrong, the thermistor and the Primary circuit flow switch cannot be at fault if the CH is working. I was going to change them but then this occured to me, so I didn't. Could be the PCB or the Main switch membrane ? but in case it 's not, what else could it be?
Any suggestions would be appreciated greatly.

Sponsored Links
Is this really a Mini S28? Or do you mean a combi C28?

The S28 would not be heating the HW within its self but would be relying on the external programmer, cyl stat and motorised valve to tell it to fire for DHW.

The S28 wouldn't know whether it was being asked to heat HW or CH, so the fault would point to the motorised valve.

If it is a C28, then thats a different matter.

I think that you are confused here. If you had a system boiler then you would also have a big hot water cylinder!

If the boiler has a black diverter valve motor then its a C28 combi boiler. The following assumes its really a combi.

If it works OK on CH but not on DHW and the fault IS caused by the flow switch is not operating then thats usually because the plate heat exchanger is blocked.

In the last case however the flow switch usually stays energised when it goes into DHW mode from CH mode.

Contrary to what Dave has said, on the system boiler there IS a fairly rare condition which causes the flow switch to fail to activate on HW even when it does on CH !

Tony