Tecumseh mower troubleshooting

bsr

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All

You helped me source a replacement air filter for my mower last year... unfortunately it's still playing up.

It now runs for about 30 seconds, then slows, hunts and eventually stalls. If I leave it for 30 minutes without cranking it will then start again. This makes me think fuel starvation but I have no idea really... any thoughts? It could be something to do with the old air filter breaking up and being sucked through the engine.

It's a Golf HBL Mower, Tecumseh BVS143 engine, Dellorto FHC 2013A Carb. I've never worked on a small engine before (have done simple car stuff like servicing and brakes) so would appreciate any suggestions on troubleshooting.

Also, is it worth doing anything? I'm happy to give it a go but the mower is 20 years old and has had nothing except annual oil changes and cleaning the plug... knowing my luck I'll probably break all the hoses, gaskets etc and have to spend more than the mower's worth replacing them.

Thanks in advance

bsr

Sponsored Links
Hell thats an old 'un :p
Scratch the memory cell......the fuel inlet banjo (called because of the shape).....undo the centre bolt and there's a filter inside. Make sure its clean.
At the same time, see that theres a good supply of juice running out of the banjo.....old metal tanks rust inside.
Then - float chamber off, inspect for rust in the hollow inside.
Pop out the float pin and remove the float and the needle jet for cleaning with aerosol carb cleaner.
Undo the main jet, and remove the other emulsion tube above it (some carbs have this in one long bit). Squirt carb cleaner through every orifice and if you have an air line, so much the better.