Telephone wiring

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi, I'm a newbie on here and I'd like some advice on phone wiring. My BT line comes from the pole to my loft where it terminates at an old style GPO junction box. The cable is grey with two solid cores. The junction box has 4 pairs of terminals and the cores are connected to two of those.

I need an outlet in my living room serving a broadband wireless router for a laptop plus a cordless phone, and an outlet in a bedroom serving a PC running off a wired connection.

My initial thought is to connect an external cable to the GPO junction box, take it out of the loft, down the outside wall, and into the living room where it will terminate at a master socket for my phone and wireless router. Then take an external cable from the master, back outside and up the outside wall and into the bedroom where it will terminate at an extension socket for the PC.

I need to route the cables outside because doing it inside is problematic. I also want to have a wired connection to the PC because I think it would give better connectivity than running it from the router that is downstairs.

Does anyone have any advice on this ie best way to wire up to the GPO junction box, what colours to use etc. Does it help the wireless connectivity to have the cable going to the downstairs first rather than going to the bedroom first which would be a shorter cable run overall. Thanks in advance for your help.

Sponsored Links
How, exactly, do you plan to use a telephone extension to connect your PC?

Hi Monkeh, I see what you mean, I'd have to have an ethernet connection from the router to the PC, which would be difficult bearing in mind that they're in different rooms. :oops:

I guess then I'll have to run the PC wirelessly also, and hope that the dongle can pick up the signal from the router. Doh!

Or, you could just run some external cat5e and put some ethernet sockets in place.

Sponsored Links