Thread Repair on Gas Fitting

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
I'm sure this thread will get flamed more times than a Universal Studios Stuntman, but here's my predicament:

I removed my LPG gas fire to install a new fireback, and I'm now reinstalling it. It's a case of tightening one fitting and the fire is back in place, but I've managed to strip the male threads of the fitting, due to the position of the new fireback being slightly forward of the old one.

My brother in law is a registered gas fitter, but since he's mega busy, all I was going to ask him to do was check the fire after I'd connected it back up. Wish I'd got him to do the whole thing.

I'm a manufacturing engineer at a precision engineering company, so I can get brass brazed onto the old fitting and recut the thread. The joint will likely be stronger than the original material.

Will this be suitable?

Is there any guidelines on the use of fillers, e.g. high temperature epoxy for gas fittings?

Sponsored Links
Have you a spare female that will fit?. if so, cut it in half, apply it either side of the damaged thread, clamp with mole grips and wind it off the fitting, it should do a decent repair.
But, you know it should'nt really be touched by yourself.

Have you a spare female that will fit?. if so, cut it in half, apply it either side of the damaged thread, clamp with mole grips and wind it off the fitting, it should do a decent repair.

Utter Bo!!ox .
If the threads are stripped a new fitting is needed.

NO NO NO. Do not do this. :rolleyes:

Mr. W.

Sponsored Links
[quote="misterdubya";p="1815778"]

NO NO NO. Do not do this. :rolleyes:

Mr. W.[/quote]

Calm down; Calm down: I think he was takin the pi55. Having said that, some people may take advice literally.....