Three 3kW handwashers

oo7

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi guys.

Pardon my novice sounding questions here but I'm a newly qualified electrician and I would like to get some of the more unusual work I'm asked to do double checked by more experienced electricians before quoting.

The job is to install 3x 3kW hand washers. The engineer who I meet to go over the job with (it's for commercial purpose and he claims to have held a 16th edit) was telling me that he would have just taken a 13a spur off the ring for each unit. Now I'm against this (good practice to stick anything over 2.2kW on a separate circuit) and want to install a new 30a radial circuit to host all three hand washers. My install would run...

30A 3036 fuse at CU (Old installation)
30mA RCD
4mm T&E (yet to do cable calculation but buried in none insulated wall)
2x sfcu 1x fcu with pull cord switch (one unit to be fitted in zone 2 of bathroom)
2.5mm flex to each unit.

Link to manufactures instructions…
http://www.tritonshowers.co.uk/media/13910/t30i_handwash.pdf

So what do you think? I don't think I've overlooked anything, the length of the radial cicuit would be around 20m max, very unlikely that more than two units used at one time. Again pardon the simplicity of the question but like I said I want to be sure before I put in a quote.

Many thanks!

Sponsored Links
Near on 40A. But these water heaters, by my understanding, only demand every so often so can apply diversty?

But you've got me racking my brains over the ".725" rule. That one seems to have slipped my mind so please refresh.

Sponsored Links
Near on 40A. But these water heaters, by my understanding, only demand every so often so can apply diversty?

That link is not very helpful - dealing with a ring circuit.

It is nothing to do with the load but the fuse.
BS3036s have a fusing factor of 2.

When BS3036s are used the CCC of the cable must be derated by a factor of 0.725.
Therefore a CCC of at least 41.4A (30 / 0.725) is required.