Three sockets off spur

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi

Am having some work done in the kitchen and have discovered that three of the sockets are running off one spur from the cellar below. ie one wire is coming up from the cellar socket - hitting a junction box and splitting off to three separate double sockets.

Now I understand that this is not good

My question is: can I bring the ring cables up from the socket in the cellar below (not too difficult) and use 3 separate junction boxes (i.e replacing sockets) in the ring with the kitchen sockets coming off these?

Thanks for any replies

Sponsored Links
You don't say if there is a ring main in the cellar? Could it just be a radial circuit, not a ring, in which case its ok, if its using 4mm T&E

I don't know - can you?

I guess I was trying to save a bit of time re plastering etc as I was tring to get it done quick before the units get put in.
I realise I'm not a qualified electrician, just asking for a bit of advice

Sponsored Links
The problem you have is that the work you would be doing in the kitchen is notifiable to your local authority building control before you start the work.
Firstly you need to check how the ring final circuit is run if indeed it is such a circuit.
If as you say there is one wire coming up from the cellar and into the kitchen jb then what is in the cellar? Another jb? And is this part of the ring final circuit?
If there is another jb in the cellar or socket that houses the ring final circuit then you could interupt the single cable in the cellar with a 13 Amp fused connection unit. Alternatively you could do the same with the jb/socket in the cellar.
This would avoid you having to make any changes to the kitchen and make the ring final spur at least meet BS7671.
If you don't feel competent to do this then leave it to an electrician.

Now is absoloutly the right time to have the wiring sorted out properly while there is no kitchen in.