Trouble finding a wireless thermostat for Potterton 80 combi

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

Im completely new to boilers and such and having just purchased my first home,and approaching winter, I now have the need to install a thermostat for the boiler. The old thermostat was non functional when I bought the house.

I am looking to install a wireless unit but am coming up short on what is compatible and what isnt.

Im under the impression that any controller should work as long as I can set the boiler to constant and then let the controller take over. Is that correct?

I have read also that this wont work with my boiler if it has a timer. Mine does. And thats where Im confused about what will and wont work.

Can anyone help clear this up and perhaps recommend a thermostat.
I was hoping Danfoss or one of the better ones.

thanks!

Sponsored Links
You can use any RF stat.

Just set your boiler to constant CH and let the programmable stat control it.

Tony

You can use any RF stat.
Agreed.

Just set your boiler to constant CH and let the programmable stat control it.
If the OP is thinking of a programmable stat, it's not quite as simple as that for the OP's boiler. ;)

The internal time-switch must be disconnected from PL11 on the control board and the prog stat connected to 7 and 8 on the terminal block.

The existing stat will be connected to 3 and 4 on the terminal block. This must be disconnected and a link inserted in its place.

These changes are required to allow the internal frost stat to work.

hello.

well after a bit of a search I have settled on the Honeywell Wireless Programmable Thermostat CMT927. It has good reviews so looks like a winner.

Would anyone know if this will control the temperature of the heaters correctly? Currently I turn the heating on and 'WHOOM' the boiler goes on full whack for an hour to give me a super hot house. This will bring the heaters up to a nice temperature without having to go on full yes?