Unions?

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Just wondering if anyone on here is a member of a trade union?

Things are looking a little bit dodgy at work, and a friend of mine has advised joining a union to ensure I get a fair deal if redundancies come up or my boss tries to get shut of me another way.

I was just wondering what unions people are members of, what experiences you've had with them and also what sort of price you're paying.

I'm an electrician btw if that makes any difference.

TIA.

Sponsored Links
I am a member of GMB, joined for the same reasons as you about 3 years ago, found they were good and the rep even attended all meetings with employer etc not sure if it helped but I am still there and 2 of my colleagues were made redundant. Think I pay £11.50 a month.
Never belonged to a union before but found them to be very helpful,they even got me my retention back from Persimmon Homes held for over 6 years, think I also get free legal advise. :D

Been in the Union (now Unite) since apprenticeship, been Shop Steward, money steward, Branch Treasurer/Secretary, delegate to Conferences, National Committees. My name is NOT Fred Kite (google that name if you are too young to have seen the movie 'i'm alright jack').

Now that I am self-employed have retained full membership out of habit really.

Have met as many 'Tories' at all levels as 'loony lefties', one cannot judge on basis of membership. Really.

What did I get out of it?, confidence to tackle what can seem unsurmountable difficulties, a belief in teamwork achievments, Union=Team. The importance of having a voice at all levels of industries/professions. An opinion, mine, that UK management is shyte.

oh, and King Arfur was right to tackle the closure of the coal industries, shame his tactics to not ballot his otherwise loyal troops cost them the battles and then the war......, talk about "lions led by donkeys" !

DH

Just wondering if anyone on here is a member of a trade union?