Unscrew Mixer Tap Neck Screw

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi All,

I'm trying to get the bolt at the bottom of the neck of my mixer tap undone to see why it's leaking, but I can't get this to budge at all. I've tried using a wrench with some material round the tap, but have only succeded in slightly damaging the tap.

I'm guessing it's just limescale over the years that has caused this to cease up, so I was wondering if people had suggestions of any loosening fluids, or the best tool to get this undone without damaging the bolt.

Thanks,
Larry.

CIMG7506.JPG

Sponsored Links
Quite often, if you turn a mixer spout to just the right (odd) angle it would just lift out, with a bit of persuasion. Not sure if this is the case for your tap though.

I am not a pro, just an experienced DIYer.

Indeed it looks like it does unscrew then. Looks like a left hand thread in the picture for some strange reason.

You could try soaking it with Kilrock gel to try and loosen the limescale. Then some penetrating oil to try and make it moveable.

Sponsored Links
It does look like a left-hand thread but then so does the fixing rod.

I doubt this is the case.
I suspect the illustrator has never done the work.

WD40 might do the job but proper penetrating oil will do it much better.

Yes, same principle as the wrenches used for oil filters on cars. They're the only thing to use when you have to grip and turn something that doesn't have flats on it. Especially something that you don't want to damage (much).

I think you might find it is a simple clip holding the spout in.

It is quite big and chrome finish. Shaped like a U, the bottom of the U is facing you in the picture immediately next to the main tap body as a narrow chrome band.