upstairs lights have tripped out

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
hi guys,
this is my first time here so please be kind....

last night my brother turned on his bedroom light and has done somin....

we went into the garage and switched the fuse switch back over and the upstairs lights still remain off. My dad has said that he has swapped the down stairs and the upstairs fuses over to see if it was that but they still did not want to work.......

Is this an often problem for people????? Does anyone have any other ideas for me to try out.....

Kindest regards

steve.

Sponsored Links
last night my brother turned on his bedroom light and has done somin....
I think you have answered your own question. I assume this 'somin', we are supposed to interpret as 'the light didn't come on and the mcb tripped' ?
Switch off the power, take out the lamp and check the connections in the light switch and lamp holder and replace the lamp if necessary.

Sounds like a shorted lamp to me. I doubt if the wires have moved around in the switch or fitting on their own. Are you giving us the full story?

hey guys thanks for the replies,

none of the upstairs lights work, my brother said he heard a popping sound as he turned on the lights, I can only gues this was the bulbs going. Other than that i have no other information to give. He has swaped the fuses around so that the one for the upstairs was working on the down stairs and vise versa, again the down worked and the up did not.

I take it this means that something has gone wrong with the wireing.... can this just suddely go ?

Sponsored Links
oh damn it, that will probabily mean ripping up floor boards in the loft then.......

Dad will be pleased..... so do you think I should conact a local electricain for a job like this?

you say none of the upstairs lights work. Is the MCB in the OFF position? When flicked on, does it just throw itself off again?

1. Have you removed the bulbs in the offending light? And tried the MCB again?