Using Trench Blocks

Reaction score
Country
United Kingdom
Hi,

I am looking at using Trench/Foundation blocks but I have never used them before and I had a couple of questions:

1. Do you only use them to get up to ground level and then build the cavity wall up to dpc?

2. If I were using standard blocks and had a cavity below ground then you would normally fill with a loose concrete mix and angle the top so any water runs to the external brick leaf. Does a smaller amount of this need doing from the trench blocks near to dpc is it not really required?

Thanks

Sponsored Links
It doesn't really matter, particularly if you have full-fill insulation.

BCO's won't normally accept these blocks exposed due to frost damage, so you would normally stop these 225mm below ground and use engineers up to DPC.

Depending on your design, cavity insulation would stop at DPC level or go down to the underside of the floor insulation.

Any cavity below ground is filled with lean concrete as you described and with weep holes at ground level.

Thank you Woody,

I will be using blocks on the inside and outside as I will be rendering it so it will be quicker and easier to use blocks.

It is a conservatory with a dwarf wall (except one wall which is roughly 2m high) so exempt from BC and Planning Permission but I would like to do it right.

I was looking at using H+H foundation blocks. I called the technical line and they said they could be used to just go above ground level, and according to the product description is says they are frost proof so I am assuming I can use these right up to one block below DPC?

Due to the height of the foundation and the whether on concreting day we decided to stop at 75mm below where we intended and I will just use 1 course of engineering bricks to make up the difference.

So I intended on using the following:

1. 2 rows of foundation blocks which brings me above ground level
2. Followed by 1 course of concrete blocks